Help Me Climb Mt. Kilimanjaro!

Mount_Kilimanjaro In an earlier post I wrote about my plans to climb Mount Kilimanjaro and choosing a tour company.  No matter who a person goes with, the cost hovers consistently around a whopping $1,500!  Of course, it’s worth every penny.  But that doesn’t mean that I have that many pennies.

In order to study abroad in East Africa this fall, I have had to load up sixteen credits of summer classes.  With this tuition piled on top of the regular school year tuition at Reed College, decreased financial aid, flights in and out of East Africa, and the cost of surgery on my broken arm two months ago, I will need all the support I can get!

So I am asking the blogosphere for help.  Many of the bloggers I follow (and who follow me) are fellow adventurers, and many of them have done the climb themselves, and I’m sure they could vouch for how worthwhile it is.  Help me climb Kilimanjaro!

Mt. Kilimanjaro is the tallest mountain in Africa, and it is the tallest freestanding mountain in the world!  The tip-top, Uhuru Peak, stands at 19,341 feet.  I am trying to raise a dollar for every ten feet of elevation I will gain on the way up.  This means that my fundraising goal is $1284, since the climb starts around 6500 feet above sea level.  Any cost that this donation pool does not meet, I will pay myself.

Please help me make this dream a reality!  Donors of any amount ($1 or greater) will receive:

  • Infinite gratitude
  • A message of thanks on my blog
  • A devoted follower on your blog (if you have one)
  • And a postcard sent to you from the top of Mt. Kilimanjaro!

Donate now!  All donations are processed through PayPal’s secure system.  You do not need a PayPal account to donate. Secure donations through PayPal   If you can’t donate but you still want to help, don’t fret!  Get your friends to do it instead.  Use the buttons below to share this post on WordPress, Facebook, or Twitter!

To view my fundraising progress, look no further.

Thanks again for your support.  Until next time!

4 responses to “Help Me Climb Mt. Kilimanjaro!

  1. Some unsolicited advice, under-trained, uncertified, and/or under-equipped guides will charge much, much less. Kilimanjaro is a popular climb, but altitude sickness and bad weather are serious risks. A well-equipped and experienced guide helps you mitigate the risk. In case you haven’t settled on an outfit, Trek2Kili takes University of Colorado groups up every year. Azizi is the owner.

    • I am thankful for any advice! There are so many outfits that cater to so many different audiences- but it can be hard to tell up front if a tour company is trustworthy. Which is why I appreciate your personal recommendation- I will take a look at Trek2Kili tonight. 🙂

      • It is hard to tell without going and finding out first-hand. He pays his porters fairly, so he’s not going to be the cheapest. If it’s out of your budget, you might ask him for a referral to another company that is trying to build a client base. Good luck with your search!

  2. Pingback: Five Reasons (Not) to Take Organic Chemistry Over the Summer | Eating Ant Bums·

Leave a Reply

