I Am Going to Africa!

Karibu!

Welcome to my blog!

I write this post today with exciting news:  I am going to Africa!  I have been accepted into a study abroad program through the School for Field Studies, an organization that has conservation-focused study abroad programs all over the world.  Though I was accepted a few months back, I still can hardly believe that it is really happening.

DSC_0178

I will be flying into Kilamanjaro Airport on September 1st and spending the first seven weeks of the program at a field station in far southern Kenya, in the shadow of Mt. Kilimanjaro itself.  We will be learning about wildlife ecology and techniques for wildlife management, as well as the socioeconomic issues facing East Africa and the formation of environmental policy in the area.  On top of it all, we get to learn how to speak Swahili and use our skills in a day-long homestay in the nearby village of Kimana.

The second half of the program, we relocate to northern Tanzania for seven weeks of independent field research under the guidance of the professors, who are all native Tanzanians.  There could be no better environment for learning; the wilderness is our classroom.  Our field trips are five-day safaris.  Our assignments involve taking wildebeest population estimates and identifying native birds.

Once the program is complete, I plan to embark on a climb of Mt. Kilimanjaro before returning home for the holidays.

I can’t even express the joy I feel knowing that in only a few months, I will be embarking on this wonderful academic and personal expedition to East Africa, and I am also thrilled to be taking you along for the ride!

Until next time!

Heather

PS Though I will have internet access in Africa, I will be unable to download new music while I am there.  What is your favorite travel music?  Please comment with musical suggestions for my time abroad!

2 responses to “I Am Going to Africa!

  1. Pingback: Help Me Climb Mt. Kilimanjaro! | Eating Ant Bums·

  2. Pingback: Déjà Vu, Weary Bones, and Africa Postponed | Eating Ant Bums·

Leave a Reply

